becker_r_470_HEADER_PRESS_FIX

Martin Becker-Rethmann

Martin Becker-Rethmann appointed as Commercial Director of MVV Umwelt

Longstanding ALBA Director to assume management of Mannheim-based MVV Energie subsidiary as of 1 December

Martin Becker-Rethmann will be the new Commercial Director of the Mannheim-based company MVV Umwelt as of 1 December 2016. A former member of the Management Board of the Berlin-based ALBA Group, Becker-Rethmann will succeed Michael Class, who became CEO of Juwi, the leading renewable energies project development company based in Wörrstadt (Rhine-Hessen), in the summer.

Martin Becker-Rethmann (48) held senior positions at ALBA, the Berlin-based disposal and recycling company, for more than 20 years, most recently from 2009 to 2015 as a member of its Management Board with responsibilities including the international group’s activities in Asia and Eastern Europe. A graduate in business administration, he previously worked as a specialist employee in the Environmental Protection/Historic Burdens Di-rectorate of the then Treuhandanstalt privatisation agency in Berlin.

"With Martin Becker-Rethmann, we have gained an experienced specialist in the German and European industries for our major subsidiary", stressed Dr. Hansjörg Roll, MVV’s Technical Director. "In close cooperation with the Technical Director, Dr. Joachim Manns, his competence will ensure continuity and innovation aimed at promoting MVV Umwelt’s forward-looking development."

"For me, the new role at MVV Umwelt offers an exciting entrepreneurial challenge within a successful group of companies that is one of Germany’s leading energy players with its strategic focus on the energy turnaround", commented Becker-Rethmann in an initial statement. "I am looking forward to moving to Mannheim and working closely together with all employees."

With more than 50 years of experience and competence in operating waste-fired power plants and managing combined heat and power generation and an annual incineration capacity of around 2 million tonnes, MVV Umwelt is one of Germany’s leading companies in this area. With around 500 employees, the company operates a total of five power plants nationwide. Alongside industrial waste, it also disposes of non-recyclable waste for a total of 19 local and regional authorities with around four million inhabitants in their catchment areas. With three biomass power plants in Mannheim, Flörsheim-Wicker and Königs Wusterhausen, the company is also a market leader in the generation of energy from biomass. Last year, MVV Umwelt launched operations at a new energy from waste plant in Plymouth and at a new biomass power plant at Ridham Dock, both in the UK.

back to top
Download

How innovative waste treatment releases fresh energy and actively helps protect the environment and the natural world

Titel_Imagebroschuere_MVV_Umwelt

Non-recyclable waste components can be used as fuels. This is the cornerstone of a modern, resource-efficient circular economy.

MVV Umwelt Brochure as PDF

becker_r_470_HEADER_PRESS_FIX

Martin Becker-Rethmann

Martin Becker-Rethmann übernimmt Kaufmännische Geschäftsführung der MVV Umwelt

Langjähriger ALBA-Vorstand zum 1. Dezember in die Geschäftsführung der Tochtergesellschaft der Mannheimer MVV Energie berufen

Neuer Kaufmännischer Geschäftsführer der Mannheimer MVV Umwelt wird zum 1. Dezember 2016 Martin Becker-Rethmann. Das frühere Mitglied des Vorstands der Berliner ALBA-Gruppe tritt damit die Nachfolge von Michael Class an, der im Sommer den Vorstandsvorsitz des führenden Projektentwicklerunternehmens für erneuerbare Energien Juwi im rheinhessischen Wörrstadt übernommen hatte.

Martin Becker-Rethmann (48) war über 20 Jahre in leitenden Funktionen für das Berliner Entsorgungs- und Recyclingunternehmen ALBA tätig, zuletzt von 2009 bis 2015 als Mit-glied des Vorstands unter anderem verantwortlich für die Aktivitäten der internationalen Unternehmensgruppe in Asien und Osteuropa. Zuvor arbeitete der Diplom-Betriebswirt als Referent im Direktorat Umweltschutz/Altlasten der damaligen Treuhandanstalt in Berlin.

"Mit Martin Becker-Rethmann gewinnen wir einen erfahrenen Fachmann aus der deutschen und europäischen Abfallwirtschaft für unsere wichtige Tochtergesellschaft"“, betonte MVV-Technikvorstand Dr. Hansjörg Roll. "Im Team mit dem Technischen Geschäftsführer Dr. Joachim Manns, steht er mit seiner Kompetenz für Kontinuität und Innovation mit dem Ziel einer zukunftsorientierten Weiterentwicklung der MVV Umwelt."

"Die neue Aufgabe bei der MVV Umwelt ist für mich eine spannende unternehmerische Herausforderung innerhalb einer erfolgreichen Unternehmensgruppe, die mit ihrer an der Energiewende ausgerichteten Strategie zu den führenden Energieunternehmen in Deutschland gehört", so Becker-Rethmann in einer ersten Stellungnahme. "Ich freue mich auf den Wechsel nach Mannheim und auf die vertrauensvolle Zusammenarbeit mit allen Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern."

Mit ihrer in über 50 Jahren gewachsenen Kompetenz und Erfahrung im Bereich abfallgefeuerter Kraftwerke und der Kraft-Wärme-Kopplung sowie einer jährlichen Verwertungskapazität von rund 2 Millionen Tonnen zählt MVV Umwelt zu den führenden Unternehmen dieser Branche in Deutschland. Das Unternehmen mit rund 500 Mitarbeitern betreibt bundesweit insgesamt fünf Kraftwerke und entsorgt neben Industrieabfällen den Restabfall von insgesamt 19 kommunalen Gebietskörperschaften, in deren Einzugsgebiet rund vier Millionen Einwohner leben. Gleichzeitig ist das Unternehmen mit seinen drei Biomasse-Kraftwerken in Mannheim, Flörsheim-Wicker und Königs Wusterhausen Marktführer bei der energetischen Nutzung von Biomasse. Zudem hat MVV Umwelt in England im letzten Jahr eine neue thermische Abfallverwertung in Plymouth sowie ein neues Biomasse-Kraftwerks in Ridham Dock in Betrieb genommen.

zum Seitenanfang
Download

Energie aus Abfall, hocheffizient: MVV Umwelt im Portrait

Titel_Imagebroschuere_MVV_Umwelt

Nicht wieder verwertbare Abfallbestandteile können als Brennstoff genutzt werden. Dies ist ein wichtiger Eckpfeiler einer modernen, ressourcenschonenden Kreislaufwirtschaft.

Broschüre MVV Umwelt als PDF