Elektromobilitaet

Infrastructure for the vehicles of the future

We are investigating efficient solutions for electro-mobility

Electricity-based mobility is currently seen as a possible way of moving towards a more environmentally-friendly type of individual transport, one with zero local emissions. Electro-mobility has also received support in the political arena. In 2009, the Federal Government set the political target of reaching one million electrical vehicles by 2020.

To achieve this target, the energy infrastructure has to be prepared to cope with new tasks. In a series of projects, we have investigated the requirements not only for supplying electrical vehicles, but also for seeing them as part of the future energy system. In future, vehicles will not only be energy consumers – in the long-term they will also act as energy storage facilities. They are an opportunity to integrate sharply fluctuating generation volumes from renewable energy sources, such as wind power or photovoltaics, into the energy system more efficiently. Our first objective along this path is to make the respective input and output volumes controllable within grid operations – without any noticeable reduction in user convenience.

“Future Fleet” project

In the “Future Fleet” project, we worked in a consortium together with SAP and various institutes and universities to investigate how commercial car pools can be operated in future using electricity. To this end, we designed, developed and operated smart infrastructures at SAP in Walldorf, Bensheim, Karlsruhe and St. Leon-Rot, as well as at MVV Energie in Mannheim. This way, we supplied a fleet of around 30 electrical vehicles on a reliable, permanent basis. The principle guiding our actions was to charge the vehicles exclusively with electricity generated from regenerative energy sources. The insights gained from the “Future Fleet” project will thus help us reach our aim of putting green electricity on the road.

“Smart Grid Integration” project

The integration of electro-mobility into the electricity supply is the object of a research project currently underway in Baden-Württemberg under the title “Smart Grid Integration”, in short: SGI. Under our management, a consortium is looking into energy management and control systems able to guarantee both user convenience and grid stability. This project is being promoted as part of the “Electro-Mobility South-West” model cluster with a total of around Euro 1.1 million by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF).

In this project, which has a 36-month term and was launched in January 2013, the partners are looking into concepts and strategies to make battery charging for electrical vehicles controllable for distribution grid operators without restricting user convenience. This active control could help stabilise the grid and avoid critical grid situations. Not only that, this approach to electro-mobility also helps meet the requirements for better integrating electricity generated from renewable sources, such as wind and solar power, into the energy system.

back to top
Contact
Foto von Christian Schäfer

Christian Schäfer

T

+49 621 290 2917

All fields marked with * are required.



Your data will be processed exclusively for the purpose of answering your inquiry and will be deleted after this purpose has been fulfilled. You will find further information on the handling of your data in our notes on data protection.


References

Model cluster

The "Electro-Mobility South-West" model cluster sees itself as a central point of contact, advice and service for all matters relating to electro-mobility in south-western Germany. It provides a state-wide platform for integrating all major players in this area.

more information

Smart Grid Integration: The Project

Intelligent control conceptions are needed to keep electricity grids stable even with a large number of electric vehicles using them. "Smart Grid Integration" scrutinizes the most promising approaches.

Elektromobilitaet

Infrastruktur für die Fahrzeuge von morgen

Wir untersuchen effiziente Lösungen für elektrische Mobilität

Eine Mobilität, die auf Elektrizität beruht, wird heute als möglicher Weg zu einer umweltfreundlicheren und lokal emissionsfreien Art des Individualverkehrs gesehen. Auch von Seiten der Politik wird die Elektromobilität unterstützt: Im Jahr 2009 gab die Bundesregierung das politische Ziel von einer Million Elektrofahrzeugen bis zum Jahr 2020 aus.

Damit dieses Ziel realisiert werden kann, muss die Energieinfrastruktur auf die neuen Aufgaben vorbereitet werden. Wir haben in einer Reihe von Projekten die Voraussetzungen dafür untersucht, Elektrofahrzeuge nicht nur zu versorgen, sondern sie auch als Teil des zukünftigen Energiesystems zu verstehen. Die Fahrzeuge werden in Zukunft nicht nur Energieverbraucher sein, sondern langfristig auch zu Energiespeichern. Sie bieten die Chance auf eine effizientere Einbindung der stark schwankenden Erzeugung aus erneuerbaren Energiequellen wie z.B. Wind oder Photovoltaik. Unser erstes Ziel auf diesem Weg ist es, die Leistungsaufnahme und –abgabe für den Netzbetrieb steuerbar zu machen ohne den Nutzerkomfort merklich einzuschränken.

Projekt "Future Fleet"

Im Projekt "Future Fleet" haben wir in einem Konsortium zusammen mit SAP und verschiedenen Instituten und Hochschulen untersucht, wie gewerblich genutzte Dienstwagenflotten in Zukunft elektrisch betrieben werden können. Dafür haben wir intelligente Infrastrukturen bei SAP in Walldorf, Bensheim, Karlsruhe und St. Leon-Rot sowie bei MVV Energie in Mannheim konzipiert, aufgebaut und betrieben. Eine Flotte von rund 30 Elektrofahrzeugen haben wir so zuverlässig und dauerhaft mit Energie versorgt. Das Leitmotiv unserer Überlegungen war es, die Fahrzeuge ausschließlich mit Strom aus regenerativen Energiequellen zu beladen. Die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse aus Future Fleet helfen uns daher bei unserem Ziel, den Ökostrom auf die Straße zu bringen.

Projekt Smart Grid Integration

Mit der Einbindung der Elektromobilität in die Stromversorgung befasst sich derzeit ein Forschungsprojekt in Baden-Württemberg unter dem Titel „Smart Grid Integration“, kurz: SGI. Unter unserer Führung erforscht ein Konsortium Energiemanagement- und Steuerungssysteme, die den Nutzerkomfort genauso wie die Netzstabilität sichern. Das Projekt wird durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) im Rahmen des Spitzenclusters "Elektromobilität Süd-West" mit insgesamt rund 1,1 Millionen Euro gefördert.

Im Projekt, das eine Laufzeit von 36 Monaten hat und das im Januar 2013 angelaufen ist, erforschen die Partner Konzepte und Strategien, die das Aufladen der Batterien von Elektrofahrzeugen für die Betreiber von Verteilnetzen steuerbar machen ohne den Nutzerkomfort einzuschränken. Diese aktive Steuerung kann das Netz stabilisieren und kritische Netzzustände vermeiden. Zusätzlich entstehen dadurch die Voraussetzungen, Strom aus erneuerbaren Quellen wie Wind- und Sonnenenergie durch die Elektromobilität besser in das Energiesystem einzubinden.

zum Seitenanfang
Kontakt
Foto von Christian Schäfer

Christian Schäfer

T

+49 621 290 2917

Kontakt als VCF sichernsichern

Für die mit * gekennzeichneten Felder ist ein Eintrag erforderlich.


Referenzen

Das Spitzencluster

Das Spitzencluster Elektromobilität Süd-West versteht sich als zentrale Anlauf-, Beratungs- und Servicestelle für alle Belange der Elektromobilität im Südwesten. Sie ist eine landesweite Plattform, um alle wichtigen Akteure zu vernetzen.
weitere Informationen

Das Projekt Smart Grid Integration

Intelligente Steuerungskonzepte können dafür sorgen, dass die Stromnetze auch große Zahlen von Elektrofahrzeugen problemlos verkraften. Das Projekt SGI untersucht die aussichtsreichsten Ansätze im Detail.