Strombank_780

A current account for renewable energies

The Electricity Bank is charting new territory in the energy landscape

Banks play a key role in our economy when it comes to managing the flow of money. They collect savers’ money and lend this to investors. This approach serves as the model for the "Electricity Bank" research project we have been promoting as consortium leader since 2013 and that is being supported by the State of Baden-Württemberg as part of its BWPLUS programme. The project participants are the battery manufacturer ads-tec (Nürtingen), the Mannheim grid operator Netrion and the University of Stuttgart with the Institute of Photovoltaics and the Zentrum für interdisziplinäre Risiko- und Innovationsforschung.

The idea: electricity storage on location

The Electricity Bank addresses a topic that is set to become ever more important given increasing volumes of renewable and decentralised electricity generators in the grid. If the electricity generated from solar and wind power can also be consumed where it is generated, this eases the strain on electricity grids and avoids transmission losses. Since electricity cannot always be used when the wind is blowing or the sun is shining, it makes sense for it to be stored on location.

The electricity is kept in the "safe"

The "safe" within the Electricity Bank offer this kind of storage facility. Here, the surplus electricity generated at participating households is stored and then fed back into the grid when needed. The participants are connected to the storage facility via an internet-based "Energy Cloud". This means that all participants always have access to their "Electricity Accounts".

The practical trials

The operator model was tested in the Mannheim district of Rheinau Süd from December 2014 to March 2016. A total of 18 project participants and prosumers (14 PV and four CHP plants) were connected to the storage facility via cloud-based management software. Each participant received specific storage capacity and an account at the electricity bank. An application developed within the project visualised the account balances and recorded data for each participant.

Results

Given the different generation characteristics of the PV and CHP plants connected to the facility, the account sizes were based on dynamic, season-specific factors rather than on fixed storage volumes. This enabled the storage facility’s total capacity to be put to optimal use while also doubling proprietary utilisation rates to 60 percent to 80 percent at times. Based on marketing within the district, the remaining energy volumes could also be traded locally. Over the year, this reduced the volume of electricity fed into the next-level grid by 75 percent, while the quantity of electricity taken out of the grid fell by 40 percent. This way, the electricity bank made a substantial contribution to balancing generation and consumption on a local level. The burden on the grid was further reduced by applying a peak-shaving algorithm. Furthermore, the district storage facility was prequalified for secondary balancing energy purposes. The project participants were consistently positive in their assessment of the electricity bank system following completion of the project.

back to top
strombank_Logo_120

Questions and answers

You can find frequently asked questions and our answers here .


Contact
Foto von Robert Thomann

Dr. Robert Thomann

Project Manager MVV Energie

T

+49 621 290 2498

All fields marked with * are required.



Your data will be processed exclusively for the purpose of answering your inquiry and will be deleted after this purpose has been fulfilled. You will find further information on the handling of your data in our notes on data protection.


Project partners

The Electricity Bank is a joint project of MVV Energie, Netrion, ads-tec and the University of Stuttgart. You can find out more about the partners here .

Strombank_Logo_BWPLUS_280x157

Strombank_780

Ein Girokonto für erneuerbare Energie

Die Strombank erforscht neue Wege in der Energielandschaft

Für die Wege des Geldes in unserer Wirtschaft sind Banken von besonderer Bedeutung: Sie sammeln das Geld der Sparer ein und verleihen das Geld wieder an Investoren. Dieses Modell dient als Vorbild für das Forschungsprojekt "Strombank", das wir von 2013 bis Anfang 2016 als Konsortialführer vorangetrieben haben und das vom Land Baden-Württemberg im Rahmen des BWPLUS-Programms gefördert wurde. Am Projekt beteiligt waren der Batteriehersteller ads-tec (Nürtingen), der Mannheimer Netzbetreiber Netrion die Universität Stuttgart mit dem Institut für Photovoltaik und dem Zentrum für interdisziplinäre Risiko- und Innovationsforschung.

Die Idee: Speicherung vor Ort

Die Idee hinter der Strombank greift ein Thema auf, das durch immer mehr erneuerbare und dezentrale Stromerzeuger im Netz an Bedeutung gewinnt: Wenn der Strom aus Sonne und Wind am Ort der Erzeugung auch verbraucht werden kann, entlastet das die Stromnetze und verhindert Verluste. Weil Strom aber nicht immer dann auch gebraucht wird, wenn der Wind weht oder die Sonne scheint, bietet sich eine Speicherung des Stroms vor Ort an.

Der Strom liegt im Tresor

Ein solcher Speicher war der "Tresor" der Strombank. Hier wurde zentral der Stromüberschuss aus den Teilnehmerhaushalten gespeichert und bei Bedarf wieder ins Netz eingespeist. Teilnehmer und Speicher waren per Internet in einer "Energy Cloud" miteinander verbunden, so dass jeder Teilnehmer zu jeder Zeit Zugriff auf sein "Stromkonto" hatte.

Der Praxistest

Von Dezember 2014 bis März 2016 wurde das Betreibermodell im Mannheimer Stadtteil Rheinau Süd getestet. Über eine cloudbasierte Management Software wurden 18 Projektteilnehmer bzw. Prosumer (14 PV- und vier KWK-Anlagen) mit dem Speicher vernetzt. Jeder Teilnehmer erhielt eine bestimmte Speicherkapazität bzw. ein Konto bei der Strombank. Eine im Projekt entwickelte Applikation visualisierte die Kontostände und erfassten Daten für jeden Teilnehmer.

Ergebnisse

Angesichts der unterschiedlichen Erzeugungscharakteristiken der angebundenen PV- und KWK-Anlagen konnten anstelle fester Speichergrößen dynamische, jahreszeitspezifische Kontogrößen gewählt werden. So wurde die Gesamtkapazität des Speichers optimal ausgenutzt und zugleich der durchschnittliche Eigenverbrauch auf zeitweise 60 bis 80 Prozent verdoppelt. Auf der Grundlage einer Vermarktung im Quartier konnten die restlichen Energiemengen zusätzlich lokal gehandelt werden. Über das Jahr reduzierten sich die Einspeisung in das übergeordnete Netz auf diese Weise um 75 Prozent, der Netzbezug sank um 40 Prozent. Folglich leistete die Strombank einen erheblichen Beitrag zum lokalen Ausgleich zwischen Erzeugung und Verbrauch. Weitere netzentlastende Effekte wurden durch einen Peakshaving-Algorithmus erreicht. Zudem wurde der eingesetzte Quartierspeicher für die Sekundärregelleistung präqualifiziert. Die Projektteilnehmer bewerteten das Strombanksystem nach seinem Abschluss durchweg positiv.

zum Seitenanfang
strombank_Logo_120

Fragen und Antworten

Die häufigsten Fragen und unsere Antworten dazu finden Sie hier .


Kontakt
Foto von Robert Thomann

Dr. Robert Thomann

Projektleiter MVV Energie

T

+49 621 290 2498

Kontakt als VCF sichernsichern

Für die mit * gekennzeichneten Felder ist ein Eintrag erforderlich.


Strombank_logo_pv_magazin_120

Auszeichnungen

Unser innovatives Projekt Strombank wurde mit dem PV-magazine Award 2015 und dem Stadtwerke-Award 2016 ausgezeichnet.


Abschlussbericht

Den Abschlussbericht des Projektes "Strombank" haben wir im Dezember 2016 an den baden-württembergischen Umweltminister Franz Untersteller übergeben. Den Bericht zum Herunterladen finden Sie hier.

Die Projektpartner

Die Strombank ist ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt von MVV Energie, Netrion, ads-tec und der Universität Stuttgart. Mehr zu den Partnern erfahren Sie hier .

Strombank_Logo_BWPLUS_280x157